google is

deleting inactive accounts

Nov 29th, 2023

Under Google's updated inactive account policy, which the tech giant announced back in May, accounts that haven't been used in at least two years could be deleted. Accounts deemed inactive could be erased beginning 1 Dec.

Why is Google deleting inactive accounts?

01

Accounts that haven't been used for a long time are more likely to be compromised, the company said.

“forgotten or unattended accounts" typically have old passwords, often lack two-factor authentication and receive fewer security checks. As a result, these accounts could be hijacked and used for spam or other malicious content, as well as identity theft.

How can I prevent my account from being deleted?

02

The easiest way to keep your Google account active is to sign in at least once every two years. Other actions that fulfil account activity requirements include sending or scrolling through emails, using Google search and watching YouTube videos.

Are there any exceptions to this policy?

03

Only personal Google accounts that haven't been used for two years or more will be impacted under this inactive account update. Accounts made for organizations, like schools or companies, will not be affected, Google says.

Can I save data from my Google account?

04

Inactive Account Manager lets you choose what would happen to your account and data if it becomes inactive — including options to send select files to trusted contacts or delete the account entirely.

Google's online policy also says the company can work with immediate family to close the account of a deceased loved one and/or provide some account content — without sharing login credentials.

For More Such Content